Media Releases

Delivering safer communities in Port Lincoln

Federal Member for Grey Rowan Ramsey said he welcomes confirmation of funding of $31,500 through the Federal Government’s Safe Communities Fund for Port Lincoln.

The Port Lincoln City Council will replace four CCTV cameras within Port Lincoln's central business district and foreshore area; the city's main entertainment and retail precinct. Upgrading these four cameras will provide clear and accurate vision, viewed in real time, as well as recorded to be utilised as evidence where required.

“The Government is delivering on our election commitments in Grey under the Safer Communities Fund to boost community safety across Australia and this funding will help keep the community in Port Lincoln safe, reduce vandalism and graffiti and support crime prevention,” Mr Ramsey said.

The Safer Communities Fund is a grassroots level grant programme to assist local communities address crime and anti-social behaviour and support crime prevention initiatives to keep our streets and communities safe.

Mr Ramsey said he was pleased the Port Lincoln community will now be able to try and stem antisocial, destructive behaviour which destroys property and ruins community assets for everyone.

“As we all know, CCTV and security infrastructure has been a pivotal factor in both solving crimes and preventing crimes,” he said.

 “That is why the Coalition’s Safer Communities Fund is such a significant and important investment in cracking down on local crime and anti-social behaviour.”

Justice Minister Michael Keenan said under the Safer Communities Fund, local councils and community organisations will receive funding to boost their crime prevention initiatives through the installation of fixed and mobile CCTV or lighting.

“The Coalition Government has a strong track record when it comes to protecting community safety. We recognise that the best way to tackle crime and anti-social behaviour is to prevent it from happening,” Mr Keenan said.

“Our top priority will always be to keep our citizens and our communities safe.”

Further information on the Coalition Government’s Safer Communities Fund is available at

Media contact: Leonie Lloyd-Smith 08 8633 1744

April 20 2017

Contact Me

Electorate Office Port Pirie
Street Address:
104 Ellen Street
Port Pirie SA 5540

Local Call: 1300 301 742
Phone: (08) 8633 1744
Fax: (08) 8633 1749

Postal Address:

PO Box 296
Port Pirie SA 5540

Electorate Office Whyalla

45a Playford Avenue
Whyalla SA 5600

Local Call: 1300 301 651
Phone: (08) 8645 4255
Fax: (08) 8645 5933

Electorate Office Kadina
43 Taylor Street 
Phone: (08) 8821 4366