Media Releases

Delivering safer communities on Yorke Peninsula

Federal Member for Grey Rowan Ramsey said he welcomes confirmation of funding  through the Federal Government’s Safe Communities Fund for two projects on Yorke Peninsula.

The Minlaton Progress Association will receive funding of $10,000 under the program and the the Wallaroo Community Development Association in partnership with the District Council of the Copper Coast will receive $5000 toward increasing security in the town.

The Minlaton Progress will engage a contractor to install security lighting and CCTV cameras around the perimeter of the playground at the butler memorial precinct. The aim of this project is to minimise the anti-social behaviour and vandalism that occurs after dark at the playground.

In Wallaroo the funding will purchase and install four CCTV cameras and associated monitoring equipment for the foreshore to cover the newly installed swimming facilities. The aim of this initiative is to monitor and prevent crime, vandalism and antisocial behaviour at this location.

“The Government is delivering on our election commitments in Grey under the Safer Communities Fund to boost community safety across Australia and this funding will help keep these communities on Yorke Peninsula safe, reduce vandalism and graffiti and support crime prevention.”

The Safer Communities Fund is a grassroots level grant programme to assist local communities address crime and anti-social behaviour and support crime prevention initiatives to keep our streets and communities safe.

Mr Ramsey said he was pleased the Wallaroo and Minlaton communities will now be able to try and stem antisocial, destructive behaviour which destroys property and ruins community assets for everyone.

“As we all know, CCTV and security infrastructure has been a pivotal factor in both solving crimes and preventing crimes,” he said.

“It is a sad reality that there are people within our communities who will destroy the hard work of others and when vandalism reareds its ugly head it is heartbreaking and is costly to the community.

“Both the Minlaton and Wallaroo communities are proud of their towns and want to keep them safe and free from senseless damage and graffiti.

“That is why the Coalition’s Safer Communities Fund is such a significant and important investment in cracking down on local crime and anti-social behaviour.”

Justice Minister Michael Keenan said under the Safer Communities Fund, local councils and community organisations will receive funding to boost their crime prevention initiatives through the installation of fixed and mobile CCTV or lighting.

“The Coalition Government has a strong track record when it comes to protecting community safety. We recognise that the best way to tackle crime and anti-social behaviour is to prevent it from happening,” Mr Keenan said.

“Our top priority will always be to keep our citizens and our communities safe.”

Further information on the Coalition Government’s Safer Communities Fund is available at

Media contact: Leonie Lloyd-Smith 08 8633 1744

April 20 2017

Contact Me

Electorate Office Port Pirie
Street Address:
104 Ellen Street
Port Pirie SA 5540

Local Call: 1300 301 742
Phone: (08) 8633 1744
Fax: (08) 8633 1749

Postal Address:

PO Box 296
Port Pirie SA 5540

Electorate Office Whyalla

45a Playford Avenue
Whyalla SA 5600

Local Call: 1300 301 651
Phone: (08) 8645 4255
Fax: (08) 8645 5933

Electorate Office Kadina
43 Taylor Street 
Phone: (08) 8821 4366