Media Releases

Ramsey Welcomes Proposed Electoral Redistribution

Federal Member for Grey Rowan Ramsey said he welcomes the release today by the Australian Electoral Commission of the proposed redistribution of South Australia’s electoral divisions.

Mr Ramsey said the proposal is broadly in line with his submission to the committee.

“The seat of Grey currently covers 92% of South Australia and a vast range of industry including agriculture, aquaculture, heavy industrial, mining and the fishing industry,” he said.

“Under the AEC proposal Grey would also include the council areas of Clare and Gilbert Valley, Adelaide Plains and parts of Light and Wakefield Council which is not already in Grey. The seat will stretch from Two Wells and the Northern Expressway to the WA, NT, Qld and NSW borders.

“This alteration will include some of the State’s premier wine growing country.

The inclusion of the area around Two Wells and its associated horticulture industry will certainly present a new and exciting challenge to the Member for Grey and perhaps the same result could have been achieved by the inclusion of a greater part of the Light District Council.”

Mr Ramsey said that while he knows many of these areas reasonably well he is looking forward to being out and about in them more in the coming months to ensure he is well prepared for their inclusion.

The process undertaken by the Electoral Commission determined South Australia will lose a Federal division due to the State’s declining percentage of the national population and consequently the remaining ten South Australian seats need to have between 107,533 and 131,453 electors each. Consequently Grey is set to gain 17,719.



Leonie Lloyd-Smith 08 8633 1744 April 13 2018

Contact Me

Electorate Office Port Pirie
Street Address:
104 Ellen Street
Port Pirie SA 5540

Local Call: 1300 301 742
Phone: (08) 8633 1744
Fax: (08) 8633 1749

Postal Address:

PO Box 296
Port Pirie SA 5540

Electorate Office Whyalla

45a Playford Avenue
Whyalla SA 5600

Local Call: 1300 301 651
Phone: (08) 8645 4255
Fax: (08) 8645 5933

Electorate Office Kadina
43 Taylor Street 
Phone: (08) 8821 4366